top of page
  • Writer's pictureYudy Armanto

Teaching Practice

Updated: Feb 19, 2019

Mam Oseraos told me that I would teach in 9th grade. I would teach from 07.20a.m. - 03.00p.m. I taught 5 classes namely the Almond, Acacia, Gold SSC, Bismuth and Agoho classes. Students in the average class number 36-40 students and still use chalkboards. I was given a teacher's book by Mam Oseraos so that I could first understand the material I was going to teach and also to make a lesson plan.

Math Book

After observation, I knew more about teaching methods and about the culture of teaching in the Philippines. Mam Oseraos told me what I had to prepare and what topics I would teach over the next 2 weeks. I think the material for Mathematics is not much different from the material in the same class in Indonesia.


Because the students and teachers here already speak English so I have no problem communicating with them. My challenge is to make students more interested in learning mathematics. According to my observation, in the Philippines and in Indonesia mathematics is the most feared lesson for students. But not all students are afraid of this lesson, there are some students who are good at this lesson.


Teaching Procedure

I use the same procedure teaching with Ma'am Oseraos and based with my lesson plan that I make before and used the procedure 4A'S - Activity, Analysis, Abstraction, and Application


In preparation involves checking the presence and recap of what they have discussed in the last meeting. In the first meeting, I always provoked students to remember the material at the previous meeting. I always give simple questions. After that, I will check their absence. If the class is calm and students are ready to accept the lesson, I will start teaching. I explained the material on the board and they copied it into the book. After they copy into their books, I ask them to form groups with the aim of solving some problems related to the material that I have given. After we finish one topic there is usually an evaluation but if the time is not enough I will only make assignments for them.


For activity, students will listen and pay attention to the teacher in delivering the material. Next is analysis, students will begin to analyze the material that has been given by the teacher to be understood further and deeper. In this case, I use group work so students can interact and work together to analyze the material.

In the observation stage, students are still in groups and the teacher begins to see what information can be found by students and then can review and discuss it together with students.


The last is implementation, students will be taught the application of this material will be used in problems such as what and in everyday life that requires solving mathematical problems.



In the following days as I got at the observation teacher, I made learning media in the form of colorful triangles and guided students to form groups. Here I use the student-centered approach, where students will discuss each other to solve the questions that I have given.



Time Management and Organizing Activities

In each meeting, the time needed to teach is 1 hour. IN USANT Junior High School, they have 9 subjects that must be studied every day. For example math subjects, this lesson will continue to exist from Monday to Friday. And at this school, I got 5 classes. This is my teaching schedule:

My teaching schedule

and this is my Lesson Plan :






And this is my Group Activity Paper for the students


Group Activity Paper

Class Management

9th-grade students while taking lessons are very enthusiastic and active. If the teacher wants to discuss the assignments that were given yesterday, they are struggling to answer. And if the teacher is explaining in advance, they are also silent and listening well. So, class management will be carried out very well.


Reflection

This is a great opportunity for me to become a student teacher through the Teacher-SEA exchange program. Through this program, I have learned a lot to be better in the teaching process. I try to involve myself in every detail of class activities. I really enjoy being their teacher. They are very cute, beautiful, and very respectful. They learned something from me, so I learned something from them too. I feel I am improving in English, I also improve communication skills, I improve discipline and many aspects. In the teaching process, there are many difficulties and problems but I consider it a challenge, I remember the teachers are knowledge facilitators, an educator to make students better in attitude and behavior. I am grateful to be part of USANT Junior High School. I got an unforgettable experience here, I have learned many things. I have met many inspirational people and learned something new from them. Thank you all for being a part of my memory, see you when I see you!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page